Getting Your License in NC

Dated: January 17 2023

Views: 183

Moving to a new state can be a big transition, and one of the first things you'll need to do is update your driver's license. In North Carolina, you have 60 days to obtain a North Carolina driver's license after moving to the state.

Here's a step-by-step guide to help you through the process.

Step 1: Gather the necessary documents Before you can apply for a North Carolina driver's license, you'll need to gather a few documents.

These include:

  • Proof of identity (such as a passport or birth certificate)
  • Social security card
  • Proof of North Carolina residency (such as a utility bill or lease agreement)
  • Your out-of-state driver's license

*Note: An individual's name must match the name on the documents above, otherwise they must provide proof of name change, such as a certified marriage license or certificate, divorce decree, or document from the courts or Register of Deeds.*

Step 2: Make your appointment Skip the line by making an appointment!

Step 3: Pass a written test You'll also need to pass a written test on North Carolina traffic laws and road signs. The test is composed of multiple-choice questions and you can prepare for it by studying the North Carolina Driver's Handbook.

*Note: Written and road tests may be waived for individuals with a valid license from another state.

Step 4: Pass a road test After passing the written test, you'll need to pass a road test. This will ensure that you can safely operate a vehicle on North Carolina roads.

*Note: If you have an out-of-state driver's license, you may be able to waive the road test if you have held the license for at least one year and it is not expired.

Step 5: Surrender your out-of-state driver's license You must surrender your out-of-state driver's license when you obtain a North Carolina driver's license.

Step 6: Pay the fee You'll need to pay a fee to obtain a North Carolina driver's license. The fee varies depending on the type of license you need and your age.

Step 7: Get liability Insurance

"Any monetary penalty or restoration fee will be waived for any person who meets all the following requirements:

  • The owner must furnish a copy of their out-of-state registration reflecting the vehicle has been registered by the owner in their new state within 30 days of the cancellation or expiration of the owner's North Carolina motor vehicle liability policy. 
  • The owner must submit a copy of their current out-of-state registration card to NCDMV. 
  • The owner must return the valid North Carolina license plate or submit an affidavit (MVR18A​) indicating that the North Carolina registration plate has been lost, stolen, or destroyed."

Overall, getting a license in North Carolina is relatively straightforward, as long as you have the necessary documents and pass the required tests. Be sure to follow these steps and you'll have your new North Carolina driver's license in no time!

Moving to NC DMV

North Carolina's Driver Handbook

Blog author image

Evan Langston

Welcome home! I'm Evan, your next realtor in the North Carolina triad. My real estate journey started at 23 when I purchased my first home. Since then, I have been obsessed with the housing in....

Latest Blog Posts

Reason's to live in Winston-Salem

Winston-Salem, North Carolina, also known as the "Twin City," offers a unique blend of Southern charm and modern amenities. Here are a few reasons why you should consider making a move to Winston

Read More

Greensboro, North Carolina: A City on the Rise

If you're considering a move to North Carolina, Greensboro should be at the top of your list. This charming southern city offers a unique blend of urban and suburban amenities, making it an ideal

Read More

Place to Eat in Greensboro and Winston Salem

Greensboro and Winston-Salem, North Carolina are home to some highly acclaimed restaurants that have earned awards and accolades for their delicious food and excellent service. Here are some of the

Read More

Getting Your License in NC

Moving to a new state can be a big transition, and one of the first things you'll need to do is update your driver's license. In North Carolina, you have 60 days to obtain a North Carolina driver's

Read More